Works

bby.jpg

BABYLON BERLIN, PHOTOGRAPHED BY JOACHIM GERN

Joa­chim Gern’s pho­to­graphs, taken on the set of BABYLON BERLIN, are artisti­cally free works and claim their own pho­to­gra­phic world in Ber­lin of 1929, recrea­ted for the film. Gern’s pro­duc­tions pene­trate to the core of the por­trayed, expo­sing their innards. With the help of facial expres­si­ons and habi­tus, cos­tume and mask, scene design and light, he crea­tes indi­vi­du­als whose aura rea­ches beyond their story told in the film.

6 June 2019 – 20 July 2019

The gal­lery is clo­sed on Wed­nes­day, 26 June 2019!

On 6 June begin­ning at 7 p.m. all are invi­ted to the opening recep­tion at the gal­lery. The artist is present..

The fol­lo­wing works are pre­sen­ted in the show:

BABYLON BERLIN

Hardly any TV series in recent years has had such a pre­sence in the media as BABYLON BERLIN, which tells of the social uphea­vals of the so-called Gol­den Twen­ties in Ber­lin on the eve of the Great Depres­sion and Natio­nal Socia­lism. The star­ting point of the series is a novel by Vol­ker Kut­scher, sta­ged by the direc­tors Tom Tykwer, Achim von Bor­ries and Henk Hand­lo­eg­ten in copro­duc­tion bet­ween X Filme, ARD, Sky and Beta Film as a broad-based his­to­ri­cal pan­orama of the Wei­mar Repu­blic, broad­cast free-to-air in 2018. The crime story, which takes place in May 1929, revol­ves around Gereon Rath (Vol­ker Bruch), who has moved from Colo­gne to Ber­lin. During his inves­ti­ga­ti­ons, he beco­mes invol­ved in the radi­cal chan­ges of the eco­nomy, cul­ture and poli­tics. In the throb­bing metro­po­lis, pro­gres­sive impo­ve­rish­ment and orga­ni­zed crime face exces­sive night­life and luxury, and in view of incre­a­sing poli­ti­cal radi­ca­liza­tion, life in Ber­lin at the end of the twen­ties beco­mes a dance on the volcano.
We are plea­sed to pre­sent 40 fine art prints of pho­to­graphs by Joa­chim Gern, who accom­pa­nied the shoo­ting from May to Decem­ber 2016 on about 100 days with his camera. The pro­du­cers were so enthu­si­as­tic about the result of his photo por­traits of the actors Vol­ker Bruch, Liv Lisa Fries, Peter Kurth, Lars Eidin­ger, Mat­thias Brandt, Mišel Matiče­vić, Seve­r­ija Janušaus­kaitė and others, that the idea was born, to publish the works of Joa­chim Gern and the still pho­to­gra­pher Frédé­ric Batier in a film book. As a publis­her, the liter­ary scho­lar Michael Töte­berg was won, as publis­her Kie­pen­heuer & Witsch. The book was alre­ady sold out at the end of 2018.
Joa­chim Gern’s pho­to­graphs, taken on the set of BABYLON BERLIN, are artisti­cally free works and claim their own pho­to­gra­phic world in Ber­lin of 1929, recrea­ted for the film. Gern’s pro­duc­tions pene­trate to the core of the por­trayed, expo­sing their innards. With the help of facial expres­si­ons and habi­tus, cos­tume and mask, scene design and light, he crea­tes indi­vi­du­als whose aura rea­ches beyond their story told in the film. In this respect, the pho­to­graphs by Joa­chim Gern of the set for BABYLON BERLIN prove to be works of the hig­hest por­trait art.

About the artist: Joa­chim Gern comes from Schleswig-Holstein, lives in Ber­lin and pho­to­graphs por­traits, fashion and free pro­jects. He works for maga­zi­nes such as STERN and ZEIT, pho­to­graphs film pos­ters (inter alia, Good­bye Lenin, Mr. Leh­mann, The heart is a dark forest). The focus of his work are por­traits of actors (inclu­ding Chris­toph Waltz, Mar­tina Gedeck, Har­ri­son Ford, Johanna Woka­lek, Jan Josef Lie­fers) and wri­ters (inclu­ding Ian McE­wan, Nor­man Ohler, Sis­sel –Jo Gazan). The early work “Soul Exci­ta­ti­ons from Second Hand” (1989) was pre­sen­ted with the ensem­ble of the Schau­bühne Ber­lin, fol­lo­wed by “Ger­man Film­stars” (2001) at the Film­mu­seum Ber­lin, “Hats by Fiona Ben­nett” (2005), as well as many par­ti­ci­pa­ti­ons in group exhi­bi­ti­ons such as “I have a dream” (2005/06) from the ZEIT.

Werke

bby.jpg

BABYLON BERLIN, FOTOGRAFIERT VON JOACHIM GERN

Die am Set der TV-Erfolgsserie BABYLON BERLIN ent­stan­de­nen Foto­gra­fien von Joa­chim Gern sind künst­le­risch freie Arbei­ten und fin­den eine eigene foto­gra­fi­sche Welt in dem für den Film wie­der­er­schaf­fe­nen Ber­lin 1929. Gerns Insze­nie­run­gen drin­gen zum Kern der Dar­ge­stell­ten vor, legen ihr Inners­tes frei. Mit­hilfe von Mimik und Habi­tus, Kos­tüm und Maske, Sze­nen­bild und Licht erschafft er Indi­vi­duen, deren Aura über ihre im Film erzählte Geschichte hinausreicht.

06.06.2019 – 20.07.2019

Die Gale­rie ist am Mitt­woch, 26.06.2019 geschlossen!

Am 06.06. fin­det ab 19 Uhr in den Räu­men der Gale­rie die Ver­nis­sage statt, zu der alle Inter­es­sier­ten herz­lich ein­ge­la­den sind. Der Künst­ler ist anwesend.

Fol­gende Werke sind in der Aus­stel­lung zu sehen:

BABYLON BERLIN

Kaum eine TV-Serie der letz­ten Jahre war in den Medien der­art prä­sent wie BABYLON BERLIN, das von den sozia­len Ver­wer­fun­gen der sog. Gol­de­nen Zwan­zi­ger am Vor­abend von Welt­wirt­schafts­krise und Natio­nal­so­zia­lis­mus in Ber­lin erzählt. Aus­gangs­punkt der Serie ist eine Roman­vor­lage von Vol­ker Kut­scher, die von den Regis­seu­ren Tom Tykwer, Achim von Bor­ries und Henk Hand­lo­eg­ten in Kopro­duk­tion zwi­schen X Filme, ARD, Sky und Beta Film als breit ange­leg­tes Zeit­pan­orama der Wei­ma­rer Repu­blik insze­niert und erst­mals im Free-TV 2018 aus­ge­strahlt wurde. Die im Mai 1929 spie­lende Kri­mi­nal­ge­schichte dreht sich um den von Köln nach Ber­lin ver­setz­ten Kom­mis­sar Gereon Rath (Vol­ker Bruch), der wäh­rend sei­ner Ermitt­lun­gen in die radi­ka­len Umbrü­che von Öko­no­mie, Kul­tur und Poli­tik gerät. In der pul­sie­ren­den Metro­pole ste­hen vor­an­schrei­tende Ver­elen­dung und orga­ni­sierte Kri­mi­na­li­tät exzes­si­vem Nacht­le­ben und Luxus gegen­über, und ange­sichts der zuneh­men­den poli­ti­schen Radi­ka­li­sie­rung wird das Leben in Ber­lin zu Ende der Zwan­zi­ger­jahre zum Tanz auf dem Vul­kan.
Wir freuen uns, 40 Fine Art Prints von Foto­gra­fien von Joa­chim Gern zu prä­sen­tie­ren, der die Dreh­ar­bei­ten von Mai bis Dezem­ber 2016 an ca. 100 Tagen mit sei­ner Kamera beglei­tet hat. Über das Ergeb­nis sei­ner Foto­por­träts der Schau­spie­ler Vol­ker Bruch, Liv Lisa Fries, Peter Kurth, Lars Eidin­ger, Mat­thias Brandt, Mišel Matiče­vić, Seve­r­ija Janušaus­kaitė und ande­ren, zeig­ten sich die Pro­du­zen­ten der­art begeis­tert, dass die Idee gebo­ren wurde, die Arbei­ten von Joa­chim Gern sowie die des Stand­fo­to­gra­fen Frédé­ric Batier in einem Film­buch zu publi­zie­ren. Als Her­aus­ge­ber konnte der Lite­ra­tur­wis­sen­schaft­ler Michael Töte­berg gewon­nen wer­den, als Ver­lag Kie­pen­heuer & Witsch. Das Werk war bereits Ende 2018 ver­grif­fen.
Die am Set von BABYLON BERLIN ent­stan­de­nen Foto­gra­fien von Joa­chim Gern sind künst­le­risch freie Arbei­ten und fin­den eine eigene foto­gra­fi­sche Welt in dem für den Film wie­der­er­schaf­fe­nen Ber­lin 1929. Gerns Insze­nie­run­gen drin­gen zum Kern der Dar­ge­stell­ten vor, legen ihr Inners­tes frei. Mit­hilfe von Mimik und Habi­tus, Kos­tüm und Maske, Sze­nen­bild und Licht erschafft er Indi­vi­duen, deren Aura über ihre im Film erzählte Geschichte hin­aus­reicht. Inso­fern erwei­sen sich die Foto­gra­fien von Joa­chim Gern vom Set von BABYLON BERLIN als Werke höchs­ter Porträtkunst.

Zum Künst­ler: Joa­chim Gern stammt aus Schleswig-Holstein, lebt in Ber­lin und foto­gra­fiert Por­träts, Mode und freie Pro­jekte. Er arbei­tet für Zeit­schrif­ten wie STERN und ZEIT, foto­gra­fiert Film­pla­kate (u. a. Good­bye Lenin, Herr Leh­mann, Das Herz ist ein dunk­ler Wald). Im Mit­tel­punkt sei­ner Arbeit ste­hen Por­träts von Schau­spie­lern (u. a. Chris­toph Waltz, Mar­tina Gedeck, Har­ri­son Ford, Johanna Woka­lek, Jan Josef Lie­fers) und Schrift­stel­lern (u. a. Ian McE­wan, Nor­man Ohler, Sissel-Jo Gazan). Aus­ge­stellt wurde die frühe Arbeit “See­len­re­gun­gen aus zwei­ter Hand” (1989) mit dem Ensem­ble der Schau­bühne Ber­lin, es folg­ten “Deut­sche Film­stars” (2001) im Film­mu­seum Ber­lin, “Hüte von Fiona Ben­nett” (2005), sowie viele Betei­li­gun­gen an Grup­pen­aus­stel­lun­gen wie z. B. “Ich habe einen Traum” (2005/06) von der ZEIT.